Print this page

May 29th, 2008
Author: Richard Barbrook

Imaginary Futures wins 2008 Marshall McLuhan Award

The Media Ecology Association (MEA) has selected Richard Barbrook’s Imaginary Futures: from thinking machines to the global village as the winner of the 2008 Marshall McLuhan Award for Outstanding Book in the Field of Media Ecology.

Past recipients of this award include Francis Fukuyama, Doug Rushkoff and Neil Postman.

The official presentation of the award will at the MEA’s annual convention which is being held at Santa Clara University in Silicon Valley, California, USA on 19th-22nd June 2008.

Dr. Richard Barbrook will be attending the awards ceremony on Friday 20th June and will give a lecture about his book.

Further details can be obtained from the MEA website.

The utopian dreams of Russian-style cybernetic communism could only be turned into everyday reality within the made-in-the-USA global village.